In My Room

The Beach Boys song and what it means to me.

In 1963, the beach boys released this song as a B-side to an arguably terrible song. Yet all these years later this song is one of the best songs I have ever heard.

Not only does this song implement beautiful harmonies, a harp, and a slower pace that sets it apart from a lot of other early Beach Boys songs, but it also has a very personal element to it. When I listen to this song, I hear Brian Wilson talking to the world about his struggles directly, without much manipulation. Much like the later I Just Wasn’t Made For These Times, although with arguably better melody (controversial), In My Room is emotional and I can relate to it deeply. I don’t know what Brian Wilson was going through at the time, nobody can know how he was exactly feeling at the time, but I still feel like the song is almost about me and my experiences. That's probably what makes it such a good song, you don’t have to be going through what Brian Wilson was going through 100% to feel this song.

I have been having a rough go of it recently, big life changes coming up on the horizon have been messing with my self-confidence, optimism, and emotional stability. But in my room, I feel safe, and I’m not afraid, because it’s my room, it’s mine. Nobody can take it away from me, and in some shape or form, I will always have my room. This song takes that feeling and reassures it, makes it a concrete fact, and then nobody can get at me. For me, it's one of those songs that not only gives me chills just from the musicality of it, but it also nearly brings me to tears because I feel it so much. It’s cathartic almost, letting me know that I will be ok inside my room and out.

HAHAHA ok enough emotions

I want to do a quick analysis of the song, without lyrical contexts or personal experience right here at the end. This song isn’t trying to be fancy, it has a pretty simple structure between the verses which go right into the “in my room” parts. There is a bridge in the “do my weeping and my sleeping” section, and then it goes right back into the verse and chorus. It’s simple, but also seamless. The harmonies are wonderful, the instrumental track doesn’t get showy, it supports the vocals and builds atmosphere but doesn’t steal the show. This song is about the vocals and the instrumental track knows that. Overall, 10/10 song, this isn’t that in depth but I like the song more for it’s emotional connection to me, so yeah.

Thanks for reading :)